Though Islam is a single religion, it is important to recognise that Muslim people are not a single homogenous group. Muslims believe in the one God, Allah as well as the Prophets including Jesus, Moses, Abraham and Muhammad.
Halal is an Arabic word designating any object or an action which is permissible to use or engage in, according to Islamic law as prescribed in the Qur’an. It is the opposite of haraam. The term Halal is commonly used to designate food especially meat processed and prepared in accordance with those requirements seen as permissible according to Islamic law.
In general every food is considered halal in Islam unless it is specially prohibited by the Qur’an, halal foods are defined as:
- Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law (Shariah).
- Processed, made, produced, manufactured or stored using utensils, equipment or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.
NB Halal and Kosher are both detailed dietary laws described in religious texts. Halal is the Islamic code of laws found in the Quran and Kosher is the Jewish code of laws found in the Torah.
As a rule of thumb, most Kosher foods not containing alcohol are also Halal.
To the best of our knowledge all products identified with an halal icon in our gift shop are suitable for halal diet.
If you have any questions or need more information, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we’ll be happy to help.
Marron glacé | Glacé fruit | Marzipan | Chocolate ginger | Chocolate orange | Chocolate | Cinnamon | Chocolate nuts | Pâte de fruit | Spicy nuts | Nuts | Dried fruit | Nougat | Nut brittle | Mango | Strawberry | Brazil | Apricot | Date | Almonds | Stocking fillers | Christmas | Vegan | Vegetarian | Halal | Kosher | Gluten free | Presents | Gifts | Best | Hampers | Gift ideas | Corporate gifts | New Year’s gifts | Quality | Luxury | Gifts for him | Gifts for her